Skip to content

Reflecting on the book ‘Radical Changes’

February 21, 2013

I didn’t get to finish the whole book but found something that I can relate to sometimes, which is the occasional feelings of inadequacy and the immediate thought to at least do something to keep me busy.

It was a good strategy at times of crisis, which I have prided myself for being able to remain focus to solve problems or being level-headed enough to be useful and productive at those times.

However, at other times this is a great reminder that it would be a tragedy if I have the freedom to possibilities and yet am trapped in same old pattern. And delaying gratification or the withdrawal from present moment by shifting focus such as embarking on series of self-improvement courses will not help resolve the problem.

I can relate to the feelings mentioned in the book such as feeling unworthy, cage myself with self judgment, anxiety, relentlessness and dissatisfaction and the struggle of acknowledging my heart’s desire.

The author said desire became a problem only when it took over our sense of who we are. If this is true, then my desire is going to make me more of who I am.

The author continued to say that pursuit of substitutes distract our attention for a time of feeling unloved or unworthy. These are still substitutes even if these activities are meaningful and spiritually gratifying.

One of the exercises featured in the book was really good. When you have craving for food, sit down, think and acknowledge all the thoughts, words and feelings that come to you to know what you really want, as the craving of food is the substitute of what is missing in our life. Think about what cause the cravings of food. And next time feel them and say it is not my fault. For example, craving for food and wanting success are not my fault, offer myself a forgiving and kind presence. And realize the desire in our heart and the desire will energize and guide us and motivate us.

I found out that I desire love, security, communion, harmony, beauty and freedom.

From → Reflection

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

